Select Your Store

Missouri Medical Cannabis FAQ


Refer to 19 CSR 30-95.030.

Applicants must visit a Missouri-licensed physician, who is active and in good standing to practice medicine(MD) or osteopathy (DO) pursuant to Missouri law, to obtain a physician certification form (PCF). Once the online submission system becomes available, the physician must submit the certification directly to the Department. The Department will announce when the online physician certification system is available. Until the online system is activated, the patient should submit the PCF with their application.

Once an applicant receives a PCF, they must then register and Apply for an identification card in the Department’s secure online registry portal. The Department will either approve or deny the application within 30 days of receipt of the completed application

For specific instructions and resources on the application process, visit the Patient How to Apply page.

No. The Department only accepts patient/caregiver applications submitted through its secure, on-line registry. Any mailed patient/caregiver application and/or payment will not be accepted.

Qualifying patient cultivation facilities must take place in an enclosed locked facility per 10 CSR 30-95.010. The description should include how you will comply with the requirements in this rule regarding location, security, and who will have access to the facility.


Someone who is:

  1. Twenty-one (21) years of age or older;
  2. Responsible for managing the well-being of a Qualified Patient; and
  3. Designated on the primary caregiver’s application for an identification card or in other written notification to the Department.

Patients can designate up to two caregivers. The patient must be licensed and the caregiver(s) must be licensed according to 19 CSR 30-95.030(8)(B).

Caregivers can have up to three patients. See 19 CSR 30-95.030(8) for more information.


Patient/Caregiver fees can be viewed on the Fee Schedule-Patient Information page.

Gun Ownership/Purchase for Cardholders

Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, which authorizes medical use of marijuana in Missouri, does not reference or prohibit the possession or purchase of firearms. However, federal law still may prohibit the possession or purchase of a firearm by individuals who use marijuana, regardless of whether a state has legalized marijuana for medical use. The Department of Health and Senior Services does not regulate the possession or purchase of firearms and therefore cannot say how the federal prohibition will be enforced within Missouri. Specific questions about these federal firearm restrictions should be directed to your attorney or the appropriate law enforcement agency.

Home Cultivation

Yes, upon receipt of a patient cultivation identification card. There is an additional $100 fee to grow up to six flowering plants per patient and security regulations that must be followed. See 19 CSR 30-95.030(4) for more information.

The Department cannot advise anyone on where to obtain the means to grow marijuana.

No, unless the qualifying patient under the age of 18 is emancipated. Only a parent or guardian who holds a primary caregiver identification card may obtain a cultivation license for a non-emancipated qualifying patient under the age of 18.

Per Article XIV, only two individuals, who both hold valid qualifying patient cultivation identification cards, may cultivate medical marijuana in one space. These two individuals may be two patients, a patient and a caregiver, or two caregivers. Normally, assuming two individuals are sharing the space, only 12 flowering marijuana plants may be cultivated in that space, as well as 12 nonflowering plants and 12 clones. However, if one of these two individuals is a caregiver and also a patient with a valid qualifying patient cultivation identification card, that individual may add 6 additional flowering plants, 6 nonflowering plants, and 6 clones to the share space so that the caregiver may cultivate plants for the patient under her care and for herself. This is the only circumstance under which plants for 3 patients may be grown in one shared space.

No. In the qualifying patient/caregiver relationship, only the patient or the caregiver may obtain a cultivator license, but not both.

Yes. Previous convictions do not disqualify an individual from obtaining an identification card. However, a qualifying patient’s identification may be revoked for certain criminal conduct that occurs after the card is issued. See 19 CSR 30-95.030(3)(B) for more information.

Past Conviction for Possession

Yes. Previous convictions do not disqualify an individual from obtaining an identification card. However, a qualifying patient’s identification may be revoked for certain criminal conduct that occurs after the card is issued. See 19 CSR 30-95.030(3)(B) for more information.

Physician Certification

Yes. However, the physician certification must be no more than thirty (30) days old at the time you apply for a patient identification card or renewal card.

No. Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution and our rules only allow an MD or a DO to certify qualifying medical conditions.

No. “Physician,” as used in Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, is generally defined by Chapter 334 RSMo and specifically defined for purposes of medical marijuana certification by 19 CSR 30-95.010. Other medical professionals are not authorized by the Missouri Constitution or the Department to certify qualifying medical conditions.

Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, only physicians who are licensed and in good standing to practice medicine or osteopathy under Missouri law may certify qualifying medical conditions in patients. The practice of medicine or osteopathy means practice by persons who hold a physician and surgeon license pursuant to Chapter 334, RSMo, including those who are admitted to practice in Missouri by reciprocity pursuant to section 334.043, RSMo.

No. The Department does not maintain a list of physicians who are willing to complete the physician certification form.

The Physician Certification Form is posted on the Department’s website at The following information is required: qualifying patient information, physician information, qualifying medical condition, physician attestation and agreement, and physician signature and date.

While Article XIV allows Missouri-licensed physicians to discuss and recommend medical marijuana for their patients, the Constitution does not mandate physicians do so as part of their practice. If your physician won’t complete the physician certification form, then ask if they would be willing to refer you to a physician who will.

If the standard of care does not require an in-person encounter, and if the physician can conduct an exam via telemedicine in a manner that allows that physician to truthfully answer all attestations on the physician certification form in the affirmative, then yes, the physician may certify patients through telemedicine. As always, physicians licensed in Missouri who practice telemedicine must comply with RSMo 191.1145 and 191.1146. Physicians should also note the certification form requires a handwritten signature.


Licensees will be sent notices 60, 45, 30 and 15 days prior to the license expiration. These notices will be sent from the registry system to the email address in the application. The window for submitting a patient or caregiver renewal is 60 days prior to, and no less than 30 days before, the expiration date. The system will not prohibit the submission of a renewal after the 30 day window however the Department has 30 days from submission to process an application therefore we cannot guarantee a renewal that is received in this time frame will be processed prior to expiration.

A new physician certification form and updated proof of Missouri residency will be required for renewal of a patient license. A new patient authorization form will be required for renewal of a caregiver license. Approval steps are the same as in the initial application process with the exception of reviewing government id and photo, which will be carried over from the initial application submission. Application fees for patient and caregiver renewals are $25 per application. There is an additional $100 cultivation application fee if cultivation is added to the application.

  1. Log into the registry portal –
  2. Click “License Dashboard”
  3. Navigate to the far right on the row of information about the license and click on the actions button.
    1. This will look like a white circle with three lines in it.
  4. From the drop-down menu, click “Patient Renewal” or “Caregiver Renewal”.
  5. Follow the prompts from there to complete and submit the application renewal.


Note: If your license expiration date is still more than 60 days out, you will not be able to select these options from the Actions button.